The Shoreline Events

The Shoreline events are a series of Rollerski Races that began in 2021. These events were designed to bring the “Best of the Winter, in the Summer”

In the first three editions of the Shoreline we have had over 100 athletes race in the Elite field, including multiple Olympians, dozens of current world cup skiers, US & Canadian National Team members and top Jr & Collegiate skiers from the US, Canada & Norway

The Shoreline Events

Brought to you by Out There Nordic

Join us to watch the Best of Winter in the Summer!

Next Event

July 12th & 13th 2024


Results 2023

Photos & Videos 2023


Wisconsinite Deedra Irwin and Canadian Graham Ritchie, both Winter Olympians from 2022, each took home titles during roller ski racing in the Rice Lake area on Friday and Saturday.

Minnesota skier Margie Freed had the top combined performance in winning the 15-kilometer distance race and taking second in the 1.3-kilometer sprint. Irwin, from Pulaski, was fourth in the distance event to add to her win in the sprints, while Canadian Julian Smith won the men’s sprint.

This year’s races also included junior events as Eau Claire’s Kristian Hudacek won the men’s 4.5-kilometer distance and Duluth’s Liesl Cope-Schaeffer took the women’s win.

In Friday’s distance race held on Highway W in Rusk County, Freed, from Apple Valley, finished with a top time of 45 minutes, and 52.3 seconds. Her time was seven seconds in front of runner-up Sarah Goble from Michigan. In the Shoreline Sprints Saturday on Lakeshore Drive in Rice Lake, Irwin won the women’s sprint in 2:55.57 with Freed at 2:56.29.

Ritchie won the men’s distance in 39:20.2, just three seconds in front of Logan Diekmann, of Montana. In the sprints Smith won in 2:30.91, ahead of fellow Canadian Conor McGovern in 2:31.08. Hudacek won his junior race in 14:50.8, while Cope-Schaeffer won her race in 18:07.2

Prize Money $11,000

Prize Cheese $3,000

Swag for Athletes not in the Money $3,000



The Shoreline Sprints rollerski racing weekend kicked off on Friday afternoon on a quiet county road east of Rice Lake, with strong sunshine matching the heat generated on a challenging course. Michaela Keller-Miller powered away from the women’s field along the final climbs to capture the women’s title with fellow Minnesota natives Ingrid Thyr and Amanda Kautzer rounding out the top three. Canada’s Graham Ritchie took the men’s title, even after losing a pole tip in the final stretch, with Pierre Grall-Johnson second and Brian Gregg breaking the Canadian block for third. The Shoreline Sprints wrapped up on Saturday with scenic freestyle rollerski races along the waterfront in downtown Rice Lake. Ingrid Thyr and Graham Ritchie won the sprint titles.

Results 2022

Photos & Videos (2022)


With only 5 weeks of planning we pulled off the Inaugural Shoreline Sprints in Rice Lake, WI. Although we had a small field of only 16 athletes – 6 Women & 10 Men we had an AMAZING Event. With Athletes representing the USA, Norway, Great Britain & Greece we were lucky enough to have an international field. The NEW Team Birkie was also represented by a number of their Elite & Collegiate athletes. Even with the smaller number s we did run Qtr final heats (3 for each gender), followed by larger fields for the semis and full fields of 6 and 6 for the finals. Both Finals received equal prize money totaling $5500 ($2750 per gender). For the women Nichole Bathe took the win and for the men Minnesota’s Zak Ketterson.

Results 2021

Photos & Videos (2021)

We look forward to seeing you Out There in 2024!

Sponsors (linked)